Invasion of privacy or restriction of creativity?

Ever since I started my blog, I really wanted to do a parallel post about how certain issues are tackled in Bulgaria and other countries. Of course, I did not think that the issue I’d be focusing on involves taking pictures in public.

I went to Lilly Drogerie in the city center, where I know all four shopping assistants, because I wanted to do an interview with them and learn more about their thoughts about Bulgarian politics, given that they had been complaining about the long working hours and the low paycheck at the end of the month. So I took some footage in front of the store, then around the new mall and the walking area, so that I have everything settled for my 5-shot-sequence. As I walked in, one of them, Maya, said “You can’t! It’s forbidden to take pictures of or at the store! We can get fired!” Although they were not very nervous about it, both Maya and her colleague, Ellie, shared some of their previous experience when a former salesperson got fired for letting someone snap a product with their camera.

The two girls told me that the neighboring stores had the same policy, so I went outside and openly took out my camera to make a video in front of Sport Vision. Nobody said anything. Then I thought about how major chains handle this issue? Is it even an issue for them, given how freely people behave in stores. I decided to test that theory by going to Kaufland, a major hypermarket, which sells practically everything. From the perspective of a frequent client there, I’ve been under the impression that Kaufland respects its policies toward the client and has good security mechanisms to prevent people from stealing or cheating at the cash desk. It was an assumption worth testing.

So I went inside, walked around the fruits and vegetables area, and then took out my cell phone. Five seconds later I had a video. Then I continued down the store, where a shop assistant was arranging the stock for tomorrow’s round of discounts. I stood right in front of her position and took a 5-second-long video. Again, my “transgression” remained unnoticed.

On my way back to the dormitory I thought that might be the perfect chance to make that parallel post after all. Since America is country well known for having a population that is absolutely obsessed with their cell phones (texting, taking “selfies,” sending videos and pictures through Snapchat, etc), I thought it would be the best opportunity to interview my roommate – in ISEP exchange student from the University in Montana. We were both surprised to see that according to the web sources, taking pictures inside stores is not allowed in the U.S., but only if the owner has put a clarification sign in front of the store.

In an age when everything goes viral at the very second it happens, and when the accessibility to popularize certain events through your digital devices has allowed so many people to unleash their creativity on spot,  we are restricted on how exactly to use that to our advantage. Think about how many crimes, natural disasters, and trivial daily transgressions have been uncovered thanks to eyewitnesses who had the right camera at the right time. Excuse me, dear 21st century, but you are in serious contradiction with your high-tech features right now.

Here is a video of my news report, including a short interview with my rommate, Katy Warner. Enjoy!

Leave a comment